Posted by: Teacher Peter | January 12, 2011

Chapter 3: New Year’s Resolutions

The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
gang aft a-gley.–Robert Burns (“To a Mouse”)

We’ve been living in Taiwan for 6 months now. We’ve generally been so busy living our lives and keeping up with the rat race of work that we haven’t had time to document our adventures. So, my resolution for 2011 is to write every week. I have several outlets for my writing. I write for our school magazine, I write for this blog, I have another blog for my students called Teach Peter, and I may be starting a new blog about International education.

Anyway, here’s my year in review in no particular order:

1. Got my scooter license

2. Visited Sun Moon Lake

3. Visited Hualien and Taroko Gorge

4. Saw the sunrise at Alishan

5. Enrolled in Chinese Class and started work with a Chinese tutor

6. I can now read Bu Pu Mu Fu, the phoentic alphabet of Mandarin in Taiwan (not used in mainland China).

7.I can now read about 50 characters: mostly food, street signs, other practical code. It’s like hieroglyphics to me. Interesting stuff.

8. I can navigate the city now, often without a map.

9. I bought Kristin a real oven. She may start teaching a cooking class.

10. We both have ipods. They help us in Taiwan with the following functions: 1. skype & facetime to keep in touch with friends and family back home 2. photo and video recording our adventures 3. Easy upload of photos and video. 4. ibooks: when libraries and bookstores in your native language of English are not easily accessible, ibook makes it easy to carry around a whole library of books.

11. We started going to American Chamber of Commerce events in Taichung. So far it has helped us to meet lots of foreigners and Taiwanese who speak English. Best of all, we have made connections and friendships outside of work.

12. Thanksgiving Paintball tournament for charity.

What’s next?

We hope to continue our newcomers guide and start food reviews.

Peace,

Peter

Leave a Reply

Categories

